P.O. Box37417  - Tallahassee - Florida-32315-(850) 509-9341



In 1989 under the guidance of Coach Hansel "Tootie" Tookes a group of former lettered athletesof FAMU set out to organize the FAMU Varsity "F" Club. This club was organized to recognize those athletes who had lettered in the Varsity Sports of Football. The original organizer of the FAMU Varsity. "F" Club was Hansel "Tootie" Tookes, Purcell "Nick" Houston, Willis Murray, Marcellas Durham and Edwin Lawson. Dr. Frederick S. Humphries was the President and served as one of the advisors along with Congresswoman Carrie Meek and Congressman Alcee Hastings.
During that same year, 1989, the organization changed its name to The FAMU National Varsity "F" Club which then allowed all students who participated in any sport at FAMU to become a member.

In 2005, another name change occurred due to the new policy of the University Administration which now is The National Rattler "F" Club, Inc. This new change now gives anyone and their family members an opportunity to join this organization. Since 1989 the club has had only five presidents, the first, was Purcell "Nick" Houston, then Marcellas Durham, Whitfield Jenkins, Curtis "Koot" Taylor, and present president, Rudolph "Rudy" Givens.
The organization is not-for-:-profit and some of its major donations include:

$5,000 - Legendary Jake Gaither and Coaches Statue
$7,000 - Female Sports Program
$5,000 - Coach Carter Summer Program
$30,000 - Coach Carter Summer Program
$50,000 -..:.C.. oach Taylor Scholar Program
Membership is on a yearly basis with an average membership of 150 to 300 members. While the
main focus of the National Rattler "F" Club is to support all athletic programs at FAMU, other
goals include increasing youth and women memberships to secure new members from all sports and to provide scholarships to our student athletes.